Episode Review: The Zygon Invasion & The Zygon Inversion (Spoilers)

9655753-low-1

This was the best serial yet! I’m so excited to see Doctor Who returning to what made it great to watch. For me at least. I like watching Doctor Who when it makes me laugh, while simultaneously ripping apart my insides. Love it!

So, I liked the first episode all right. It worked well as a set-up for the second episode. It was a little predictable, but it did what it set out to do. I was excited that Osgood was back, since I loved her in the 50th. I also loved the reference to the seventh doctor with the question marks on her shirt collar. This is one thing that I love about Osgood. She’s like us fans. She is fan of the Doctor, and likes to wear some of his signature clothes to show her love. We relate to Osgood in a very real way, and I love it.

Osgood 1: “I’ll answer that question one day. And do you know when that day will be?”
Osgood 2: “The day nobody cares about the answer.”

However, this serial really hit its stride in the second episode. The first thing I want to mention is how they had people react to not knowing whether Osgood is a Zygon or human. They managed to perfectly setup the end scene with the Doctor and Osgood by subtly bringing attention to the fact that even though those in UNIT and the Doctor are fighting to help the Zygons, they still hold their own prejudices and judgments about the Zygons.

Most of the zygons want to live normal, human lives with the same rights and respect. The fact that characters often mention that they don’t know if Osgood is human or Zygon brings to our attention how, while they may be helping the Zygons, they are still viewed as other. As something to be treated a little differently than humans, despite the fact that Zygons just want to live peaceful as humans. We are constantly left to wonder whether they would treat Osgood differently if they knew one way or the other. I’m convinced that they would.

This is why Osgood’s statement at the end is perfect. I was so glad that this was addressed. I actually remember thinking this same thing right before she said it. It was a perfect moment, and I’m glad that they just let that statement sit there rather than going into more detail. Their setup to the statement explains the statement. It was brilliantly done and a prime example of how subtlety can be more affective than beating us over the head with it.

The Doctor: “The only way anyone can live in peace, is if they’re prepared to forgive.”

On to the Doctor’s speech, because this wouldn’t be a proper review if I didn’t talk about Capaldi’s astounding performance delivering this speech. This was the first time I have cried watching Moffat-era Doctor Who. This speech resonates with us so profoundly since it applies to the current climate of the world today. In a world where war is everywhere, and so many people have lost their lives, the Doctor’s anti-war message is one that many feel. War is devastating, and the Doctor knows this first hand. The pain that the Doctor has been through because of the Time War is obvious as he comes close to breaking down as he tries to convince Kate and Zygon-Clara not to start a war. His voice cracks has he tries to contain the rush of emotions that he is feeling as he tries to convince them to not make the same mistake that his world did.

He doesn’t just lecture, he pleads, and it hurts. He is desperate to stop them, despite the fact that the boxes have nothing in them. He knows that all would be lost if they chose to press those buttons, so even though pressing those buttons does nothing physically, it would destroy any hope of finding peace between the Zygons and humans.

It’s an amazing scene that was incredibly well written and acted. I’ve watched it multiple times and I still tear up. I could go on for days about how awesome Capaldi was in this scene, but I think you guys already know this.

Here’s to hoping for more brilliant work!

Also, is it just me, or is Twelve starting to act a little bit like Ten?

tumblr_nxj5rs34m51r4zmhso3_400tumblr_nxj5rs34m51r4zmhso4_400

I’m fine with this, since Ten is my Doctor, but Capaldi is becoming a close second.

Leave a Reply

