Bookish Pet Peeve #11: The Coffee Shop Writer

This is a great post on an annoying stereotype about writers.

I do most of my writing at home, however I’m one of those that wishes I had a coffee shop to work in. (The only one close to me without getting on a bus is a Starbucks and I find their coffee gross.) I get so distracted when I’m at home. I find that coffee shops help me concentrate and keep me off of my embarrassing Windows app games 🙂 What if someone sees me!

I do see the irritation with this cliche though. I have a lot of friends who don’t fit this mold. And since I live in Portland, OR, this stereotype tends to be amplified.

101 Books

Confession: I’ve never written a single word in a coffee shop.

Confession number two: I don’t recall ever taking a laptop inside a coffee shop.

Confession number three: I hate coffee. Like, I loathe coffee. It smells like a combination of cigarettes and skunk.

That being the case, I’m a terrible candidate to be a novelist.

View original post 338 more words

2 comments

    • Yeah, it’s not for everyone. It doesn’t help that I’m friends with my roomies, so I sometimes find excuses to hang with them rather than write. It’s a problem. haha

Leave a Reply

