Book Review: Acid Bubbles by Paul H. Round

25569397Seventeen-year-old Peter was just a typical teenager, looking for a good time. After a night out with a friend looking for sexual fulfilment, he awakes to find that it’s two year’s in the future – and he has no memory of how he’s got there.

Peter quickly realizes that he’s become something quite different from his younger self. To his horror, he discovers that he’s at the centre of a violent drug-dealing culture, where dangerous vile characters – including his homicidal twin – are searching for him, asking questions that he can no longer answer. All the money in his possession has disappeared. He is only too aware his former associates will want their pound of flesh…

Four decades later, Peter is involved in another harsh battle for survival. During this fight he meets two fascinating creatures: Jennifer, who becomes the love of his life, and a strange and beguiling temptress, who reveals – through torture – the twisted secrets of his lost years.

Upon discovering the truth about his brutal past, Peter decides on a course of action that sees him cast into a world of uncertainty, where nothing stays the same for long… (synopsis from Goodreads)

I was given this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 1/10

Overall Impression: An interesting idea, but not very well executed.

Recommend for: Those into the the dictation style of writing.

I must confess that I couldn’t get into this book. The writing was not up my alley and I didn’t find the main character particularly interesting. So, this review is going to be a little shorter than usual since I didn’t get too far in the book. I feel like this is a bit of a disservice, but it would have taken me months to read it.

I tried to like this book. The concept was interesting and I believe that the dictation style of the book could have worked had it been done differently. I think this book would have been better if it were written in the present or past tense, not dictation. I’m not totally sure why it was written this way since from what I read, this form didn’t necessarily add anything to the narrative or to the voice. It’s possible that it becomes important later. I believe that if this was written in a different way, I would have been able to enjoy it more.

I believe the thing that made the character uninteresting to me was because there was absolutely nothing about him that I could relate to. It’s difficult for me to stay interested when I can’t relate. This could be because there is a chapter that is the typical “high school boy trying to lose his virginity” plot which I have seen way too many times. Granted, this isn’t a large part of the book—at least not from what I read—but it was a bit of a turnoff for me. Of course, some people like and relate to this type of narrative, so if that’s your thing than I would suggest this book.

Essentially what I’m saying is that I was the wrong audience for this book. It’s not what I expected it to be, so unfortunately I’m going to have to give it a low score.

Leave a Reply

