Bibliophile Problem #1: Moving

IMG_1385

Lately, I’ve been neglecting my blog, and this is for various reasons. The first reason being that I just haven’t had the chance to read as much as I want to. (I think being addicted to an online game right now is not helping with this.) Since this has mostly been a review blog, that makes it difficult content wise. However, I have been coming up with some ideas for book related posts that aren’t reviews. Gonna mix this up a little.

Yet the main reason for my lack of writing has been because I’m in the process of moving into a new place. I’ve moved a lot over the past few years. Mostly just from house to house with various combinations of roommates. This will be my fourth move since I graduated undergrad two years ago. Yeah.

Interestingly enough, I don’t really have that much furniture, and clothes can be thrown into bags, or even trash bags. What actually makes moving difficult is packing and moving my books. I have boxes upon boxes of books. And anybody who has ever had to lift a box of books can tell you that they can get pretty dang heavy. Packing up my books is always a bit of a workout, but it’s not without its joys. I know. Joy in heavy lifting and packing. I must be insane. But when I’m packing up my books, I feel a little like this:

anigif_enhanced-buzz-15818-1376582777-0

Here is how I like to think about it when I’m moving. At least when I’m moving my books. Kitchen stuff just downright sucks.

Anyway, my excitement when packing my books actually stems from the fact that I’m going to have to organize them all when I get to my new place. I love to organize my books. I can spend hours doing it with pure joy. I have even inventoried my entire collection on Librarything.

I’m not sure what it is. Maybe it’s the fact that handling books just makes me happy. Maybe it’s the fact that my books are the only part of the my life (and home) that is actually relatively organized. Who knows. All I know is that i love doing it. So when I’m packing up all of those books into boxes and playing book Tetris to try and get them to fit into as few boxes as possible, I think about what I get to do with them later, how I will get to spend two to three hours, maybe more, with  my books. It puts a smile on my face thinking about it!

So how do you guys feel about moving your books? Do you have a shelving system, or do you just put them where ever they fit?

2 comments

  1. I constantly move as I’m still renting, this is part of the reason why I switched over to ebooks to make things more manageable. My most favourite books are still at my parent’s home overseas as I refuse to try and transport and risk losing them forever haha.

    • Luckily I haven’t had to move too far away. I do have some books that I would probably shed some tears for if something happened to them 🙂 I’ve started reading some ebooks, but it just doesn’t feel the same to me. I would miss my physical books too much.

Leave a Reply

