Why Finding Time to Read Keeps Me Sane (and Why Everyone Should Do It)

WIN_20150520_132500
Sorry I don’t have my Batman beanie. It’s kind of warm outside.

I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting to write blog posts recently. I’m currently working on my graduate paper so that I can get my degree in June! So, I’ve understandably—at least to my eyes—been preoccupied with research and writing. I’ve also been balancing school work and my part-time retail job at the same time. This adds up to a lot of hours in a day, and I mostly have to stay up until about three every night to get things done. I find that I am simultaneously celebrating that I’m going to be done with school and crying that I’m going to have pay my school loans back in six months. I’m going to be cruelly thrust into adulthood in about two months. I’m freaking out a little.

Of course, this makes those moments that I can get away from all of these stresses and read for pleasure that much more important. It’s one of the only things keeping me sane. That and binge playing solitaire. Don’t ask.

Reading lets me clear my mind of the mass amount of work that I need to get done in reality. Sometimes the cloud of to-do lists that constantly rests above my head can be a little much, and any reprieve from that is a blessing and incredibly important to my sanity. Even if I just get little 15 minute spans of time to read a chapter or two of a book, my stress levels decrease, and I find myself more able to concentrate on the tasks that I need to get done.

It’s a delicate balancing act, but one that needs to be done. I’ve always been surrounded by books, and without them a room would feel empty. I would feel empty. I’ve learned so much from them that I doubt I would be the person I am today if I wasn’t such an avid reader. My free-thinking nature comes from a lifetime of reading. I’m not saying this is the only way to find yourself, or to become an open-minded human being. I’m just saying that books are what helped me become one.

Reading has introduced me to so many different points-of-view from various perspectives.

So here is a bit of advice from a voracious reader. If your excuse for not reading is solely that you can’t find the time, don’t use it as an excuse anymore. Find the time. Relax for just a few minutes with a book and escape your busy life. It will help you in the long run, and you may learn something while you’re at it.

And don’t worry. I did manage to finish a couple of books during my blogging hiatus, so reviews will be coming soon!

Leave a Reply

