The Best Books of April

20170404

Literary Fiction:

Emily St. John Mandel’s post-apocolyptic tale is one of the most human of its genre, focusing more on the lives of its characters before and after the disease that decimated the Earth’s population, rather than the actual event itself. Mandel takes us on a journey that demonstrates the human ability to love, hate, forgive, and ultimately, endure in an unforgiving world. A stunning accomplishment that is a must-read for any literary fiction fan.

 

21413855

YA Horror

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl is a fun, exciting read that will keep you turning pages until 3 a.m. or later (earlier?). This may also come from the fear of going to sleep until the sun starts to rise a little. Sunshine is a well-written and relatable character that I immediately grew attached to. And you probably will too.

Check out my full review of this book.

 

21423991

Fantasy

I had a really hard time putting down this book so I could do real-life things. It didn’t help that the chapters are pretty short, so I just kept telling myself, “One more chapter. Then I will do my homework/dishes/laundry”. Four chapters later, I would still be reading.

Check out my full review of this book.

 

 

18813717

Graphic Novel:

I wasn’t expecting to really like this one, but it turned out to be pretty awesome. Red Sonja is an intriguing character with a dark past. There is more to her than a sword and metal bikini style armor. She’s a woman struggling with the demons of her past while fighting to save the kingdom of the only man that she respects, the man who freed her from the fighting pits so long ago. It’s totally worth the read!

Check out my full review on this book.

Leave a Reply

