Book Review: The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie and Alyssa B. Sheinmel

21413855Based on the wildly popular YouTube channel, The Haunting of Sunshine Girl has been described as “ Gilmore Girls meets Paranormal Activity for the new media age.” YA fans new and old will learn the secrets behind Sunshine—the adorkable girl living in a haunted house—a story that is much bigger, and runs much deeper, than even the most devoted viewer can imagine…

Rating: 8.5/10

Overall Impression: This was an addictive read that I couldn’t put down.

Recommended For: Fans of the YouTube show and books with supernatural elements. Also, fans of teen horror novels.

I went into this book not having watched the YouTube channel, and this did not take away from the experience. I couldn’t put this book down, and I’m really excited for the next one!

I was immediately attached to Sunshine since I could see a lot of my young self in her. Especially her love for Pride and Prejudice and her close relationship with her mother. I thought that her voice was really realistic, and the attention to detail in regards to her narrative was rather impressive. I laughed at one particular part when she phrased something in a very grown-up way (i.e. words teens don’t use) and claimed that she heard it on TV. I couldn’t help but think about how long my friends and I used the phrase, “I am disinclined to acquiesce to your request” after Pirates of the Caribbean. You know some of you did that. Don’t lie.

The plot itself moved at just the right pace, and I was actually a little freaked out at times. The night I finished this book, I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and all I could think about was how creepy it would be if I just heard a little voice say “Night, night”. I don’t turn on the lights when I get up at night, so this made the thought extra creepy, and I must say that I don’t think I would handle it with quite as much grace as Sunshine does.

By the end of the book, I was left with a host of questions in a “Omg, I need to the second book” way, not a “What the hell?” way. Sadly, I can’t express my questions since there would be spoilers in them. But they exist!

I was actually surprised at how much I liked this book. Despite the fact that I am a Supernatural fan, I’m not big on reading books that involve any sort of ghost story or hauntings. Demons: cool. Ghosts: eh. But I think my mindset on the horror genre may be changing a little since I also recently read Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix and Modern Rituals by J.S. Leonard, and enjoyed both of them. Who knows? Maybe I’ve found another genre obsession.

One comment

Leave a Reply

