What is it About The Corrections?

WIN_20150402_121006I don’t know what it is about this book, but I started it in December 2013 and I am still reading it. It’s not even that I hate it. If I hated it, I would have stopped reading it by now. I mostly enjoy it when I actually pick it up, but it’s the picking it up that is the problem. Maybe it’s the fact that the characters just frustrate me to no end. Maybe it’s the language that takes a little more brain power to read than I’m really willing use right now. I don’t know, but it is taking forever.

Some may say that the reason for this is because of my above mentioned observation that characters in this novel are completely unlikable and frustrating, and this might be, but I don’t think it is necessarily what one would think. Yes, sometimes this book is infuriating to read, but not really in a bad way. I think it’s more that these characters are so irritatingly human that it almost feels like you are going through some of these issues with them. Like you are having these arguments and not just reading them. It actually takes some emotional energy to read this book. Emotional energy that I don’t really have to spare right now.

There are times when I’m reading this book and can’t help but admire some rather brilliant and poignant moments in the novel. But then there are times when I have to put the book down because one of the characters is having an argument with someone or is going through something that frustrates me to no end. This issue has been bothering me, so I asked my cousin (who loves this book) for some advice on how to read The Corrections. “Just accept their fucked upness.” A solid piece of advice.

I will go weeks before picking this book up, and when I do, I can only read about thirty pages tops at a time. It’s been one of the most oddly difficult reads I’ve ever had, and it’s weirding me out. I can’t tell right now whether I love that about this book or hate it. For now, I’m just going to consider it intriguing.

3 comments

  1. I totally sympathize. Corrections was great, but didn’t hold a candle to Freedom, but still awesome! Thanks for sharing! If you’re ever looking for some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

