The Mortal Instruments Update #1 (Spoilers)

TheMortalInstruments

There are spoilers in this update!

Basically, this series is better than the Divergent series. At least in my opinion. The story is more solid and the characters more interesting. I never really got attached to the characters in Divergent, but I’m pretty attached to these ones. I’m currently working on the third book in the series and it’s really hard to put down. I started reading it after a Supernatural binge last night at around 2 am and decided that I should really go to bed when I saw that it 4 am. It was a hard decision though.

What I have come to learn about this series is that it is an exercise in trying to make sense of your conflicted feelings. My main one, obviously, is the situation with Jace and Clary. A part of me just wants to say:

tumblr_inline_nb3im09QbY1s74182

And then another part of me is like:

tumblr_nexc9uCoyH1s8l4eao1_500

Why!? Why do you do this to my heart!? I was beginning to like them together (even though I felt bad for Simon) and then she goes and makes them brother and sister! However, this might be best for the narrative. I have to respect the total twist that Cassandra Clare made here. She has now made this series a little more unpredictable, which is sometimes an issue I have with YA. It becomes incredibly predictable at times, so the twist on the love story is rather refreshing, albeit slightly infuriating.

This also causes another conflict with me. I almost want them to find out that they’re not related, but I also kind of don’t. I’m not sure if I’m convinced that Jace is good for Clary, because let’s admit it, Jace is kind of an ass. He has his reasons, but still. He is also overbearing and super jealous. Granted, I believe that if anybody can handle Jace, it’s Clary, but I think that Jace needs to shape up a little before I would be totally sold.

That being said, Clary is also sometimes an issue for me. I like her, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes I want to shake her by the shoulders and make her listen to people every once in a while, and sometimes I do have to agree with Jace when he gets angry with her for not listening. I’m not saying she should just do what everyone tells her to do. I’m just saying that she should take what they say into advisement before leaping into action. I mean, she goes riding off to the middle of nowhere to see a powerful warlock with some guy she just met to whom she has divulge some pretty sensitive information. Clary! Stranger danger. I don’t care how hot he is, don’t do it! Now I’m all sorts of suspicious about him, and I just know something bad is going to happen because of Sebastian!

But then there are times when I’ve got to respect the girl. She’s pretty quick thinking when she gets into a jam. She’s a loyal friend, and just wants to do what’s right. She also has respect for herself. I was actually really impressed with her in the scene after Jace and Clary find out that they have demon and angel blood in them. I think you know the scene I’m talking about. 😉 Clary realizes Jace’s reasons for his actions and she stops it, despite how badly she wants him. She respects herself too much for something that intimate to occur just because Jace in having an internal crisis. You go girl!

And then Jace gets all pouty, because that’s how he handles his emotions. And then I just want to slap him in the face, but then he does something good and you forgive him, because there is a heart in there, and you would probably be the same way if you were raised by a psychopath who beat you.

Of course, this constant tension between the two of them makes me feel like this:

slide_266290_1813695_free

every time they are in the same room together. The drama is addicting!

And I can’t help but feel that Simon is the one getting the short end of the stick in this book. Seriously! Poor kid. He’s been in love with Clary forever and she doesn’t love him back. He gets turned into a rat and almost dies multiple times when he gets sucked into Clary’s new life. He almost gets to be with Clary after the whole Jace being her brother thing comes out, but then he gets turned into vampire, so that can’t work out anymore. Then he almost dies some more. The only break he has gotten so far in this series is that he is able to walk in the sun. But now he’s captured by the Clave, and has found out that practically every Downworlder is watching him because he can walk in the sun, so the break we though he got actually makes his life that much worse. Throw this poor guy a bone. Seriously. My greatest desire for this series is that Simon is happy at the end. That’s practically all I want at this point.

4 comments

  1. Hi! Just found your blog! I must say, I share pretty much all your thoughts about these books: I started reading them just after Divergent, and I thought that they were better plotted ( I love how complex this world feels! ). I ended up making a chapter-by-chapter reading on my blog, and it was a constant rollercoaster of emotions, twists and turns, I almost regretted my decision to write down my thoughts after every chapter because I really just wanted to know what happened next. You don’t even know how difficult it is to avoid spoiling you!
    Keep up with the books, they’re great fun!
    ( also… Sorry about any mistakes I made above, I’m not native english speaker! )
    Cheers!

    • Welcome to my blog! I’m pretty excited to continuing on this series. I will be doing another update soon cause stuff has happened that I need to talk about! Emotional rollercoaster is definitely the right way to describe this series.

  2. Can I ask you a question? Are you Italian? ( I just saw your name’s Roberta! ); causa I am! 🙂
    Share away! I’m curious to know what you think about the story!

  3. No, I am not Italian. I was named after my aunt. I’m not sure where the inspiration came from for naming her that, but I’m a fan of my name 🙂

Leave a Reply

