My Journey Reading the Wheel of Time Series (Spoilers)

IMG_1300

Normally, I just write reviews of all of the books that I read. However, it gets a little tricky when it comes to series. Oftentimes, I find myself just repeating myself when I review the next book in a series, and since The Wheel of Time series in 14 book long, I can imagine my blog posts getting rather boring to read. So this time around, I’m just going to write updates on my journey through the Wheel of Time series. There will be spoilers, so if you plan on reading them, you may not want to read them. However, once I’m done with the series I will write a review on the series as a whole like I did for the Dragonlance Chronicles and Angel & Faith: Season 9. So without further ado, here is my first update.

So far, I have been through three books and I’m pretty much hooked. My main question is why it took me so long to read them in the first place. Maybe it was the fact that there were so many. Of course I read like 13 of the books in the Redwall series, so I guess this can’t be an excuse. I don’t know.

Anyway, I’ve been told by multiple people that this series slows down a little bit around the middle, so I’m prepared for that to happen. However, this hasn’t happened yet, and it has been difficult for me to put these books down. I have to wait for a lull in schoolwork to actually start one of these since I get so sucked into them. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of starting book three right around when I needed to start working on my final projects for the term. This was a mistake. It was difficult to not just blow off my homework so that I could read. Yet, when I gained enough will power to balance reading the book and homework, I actually got done with my projects faster since I used reading a chapter or two as a reward for doing some work. If you can find the will power, this is a great way to get real-life stuff done.

I am loving the characters in this series. I think I’ve got it narrowed down to three favorites; Egwene, Nynaeve, and Perrin. I would include Min but she hasn’t been in the series enough for me to make her a favorite…yet. Egwene and Nynaeve are two women who don’t take crap and I love it. While they are pretty awesome characters, I have to say that one of the best things about them is that they are also flawed.

Nynaeve lets her anger get the best of sometimes, which can get her into trouble, but you can’t really fault her for that half of the time. Nynaeve often feels responsible for the fate of Mat, Perrin, Rand and Egwene, and this puts a lot of pressure on her to make sure they get out of this adventure safely. Much of the time Nynaeve keeps it together for the sake of those around her, and it’s the moments when we see her break just a little that truly endear her to me. The scene when she went through the tests to become one of the Accepted was heartbreaking.

Egwene likes to pretend that she is all grown up, but there are many times when we see that she still has a way to go. She sometimes leaps into things without thinking and is constantly having to reign in her jealousy when it comes to other women and Rand. She’s a girl with a lot of power that needs to learn how to control it before she gets ahead of herself. It’s been interesting seeing the development of her character from the very first book to the third. There is still some development left for her yet, and I’m interested to see where her character goes.

As for Perrin, I like him the most out of the three guys. Maybe it’s because I’m into more quite, introverted, and mysterious men in my books (Mr. Darcy is my literature crush) but I believe that Perrin is the more interesting and, I’ll admit, sexier of the three. He’s conflicted about his abilities, and rightfully so. While he ends doing a lot of fighting, he never finds enjoyment from it (unless his wolfy part kind of takes over) and has managed to hold on to his compassion for others despite all that he has gone through. Perrin actually makes me wonder why every girl in this book seems fall in love with Rand at first sight. Seriously though, I don’t get that.

Anyway, this has been a long post. Future posts should be shorter since I won’t be talking about three books at once.

Leave a Reply

