Book Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

20910157In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by.

Rating: 9/10

Amy Poehler is amazing and when I saw that she had a book out, I had to have it. This book was everything that I expected it to be, plus a little bit more. Oftentimes laugh out loud funny, I found myself reading parts of it out loud to my boyfriend, who is also a fan of her work. I would get so engrossed in this book that I would read more than 100 pages without realizing it until I looked up in search of food.

Despite the fact that Amy mentions multiple times how hard it is to write a book, I thought that she handled combining humor with meaningful tidbits of life advice admirably, and much of this advice I will take to heart for the rest of my life. Amy is a person that most can relate to. She has insecurities and doubts just like the rest of us, and her advice on how to conquer these is incredibly valuable and something that so many people need to hear. Confidence does not come from the absence of insecurities, but rather the ability to fight them back when they rear their ugly heads.

Amy is inspiring in so many ways. She has managed to become very successful woman in an industry where being a woman is often a determent to upward mobility. She stands up for what she believes to be right, calls people out when they are wrong, and finds the time in her incredibly busy schedule to be there for her family and her friends. We can learn so much from women like Amy Poehler, and I’m so glad that she decided to write a book that allowed us to know a little more about her. Thank you, Amy, for being such an awesome person. And thank you again for all of the great advice, and I will forever remember to keep in mind my currency.

Memorable Quotes

  • We all have a tiny whispery voice inside of us, but the bad ones are usually at a lower register and come through a little clearer.
  • Decide what your currency is early. Let go of what you will never have. People who do this are happier and sexier.
  • Nothing is more depressing than a tired dominatrix.
  • We did the thing. Because remember, the talking about the thing isn’t the thing. The doing of the thing is the thing.
Leave a Reply

