The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

5907

 

Rating: 7.5/10

This is actually my second time reading The Hobbit and I have to say that I enjoyed it much more the second time around. I’m not saying that I loved it (cause I didn’t) or that I would read it again voluntarily (cause I wouldn’t) but I didn’t want to just quit reading it like I did the last time I gave this book a go in high school.

At first, the writing was driving my crazy, and then I realized that I was reading it wrong. I realized that you weren’t supposed to read this book like it was a story written down and reworked into nice language to like most books, but that it needed to be read as if you were hearing the story being told to you orally. I began to read it like someone was reading it out loud to me, and that’s when I actually started to enjoy it. At that point, I finally realized what the appeal is of this book. It’s rather charmingly written when you it read like this, and as an adult (well, mostly) I was able to remember the nights when my mom would read to me before bed, and this since of nostalgia actually made me like this book.

As for the story, I thought it was fun and I can’t say that I was bored while reading it. Something is always happening (even if that something isn’t very well explained. *cough, cough* how did they across the river *cough, cough*) and I liked to see the growth in the character of Bilbo.

While at first Bilbo seems a little pathetic and unadventurous, as the story continues, he begins to gain his confidence and basically becomes the leader of this group. Bilbo gets the dwarves out of so much trouble that you actually start to wonder whether or not dwarves are even worth anything. Seriously. How many times can you honestly get yourself into trouble. They all would have died without Bilbo. Granted, they realize this and often thank Bilbo for saving their skins yet again.

Overall, this book was fun to read and I’m glad that I was forced to give it another shot. I actually got so much more out of it reading it as an adult than as a teenager. I can see why Tolkien remains one of the most iconic writers of all time since he still remains an example for fantasy writers today.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

