Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish by David Rakoff

16099190

Rating: 9/10

I was not expecting to love this book, just like it. I stumbled across this book when I was looking at some other book blogs and thought that I would eventually check it out since it’s different from anything else I have ever read. Then, as I was browsing my local library, this book happened to be sitting out on display, so I took it as a sign and checked it out, and I am very glad I did.

I’m not normally a huge fan of poetry or verse, but after reading this book, I can’t imagine this story being told any other way. Despite the fact that this book is written in the same form as “The Night Before Christmas” it dealt with really serious issues like rape and homosexuality. It’s actually a rather disturbing juxtaposition between the content of the book and its playfully presented lyrical writing.

At first, the stories all seem to be separate from each other, but as the book continues the lives of the characters start to intertwine to varying degrees, all of which are meaningful and very well pieced together. Despite the size of the book, (it’s only about 110 pages with large print) you still become attached to the characters. It is also very likely that you will relate to at least one of the characters, if not multiple.

My only issue with the book was that there where a couple of sections that the flow was lost a little. In these sections, it was hard to concentrate on the story since I was just trying to figure how to read those few lines.  However, the majority of the book flowed really well and was easy to read and get into the rhythm.

Overall, I really loved this book. If you are looking for something a little shorter but meaningful this is definitely the book for you. It goes by really quickly and can be read in a couple of hours or less if you are a faster reader than me. (And let’s face it, I’m a pretty slow reader considering how much of it I do.)

One comment

Leave a Reply

