MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

download (3)Rating: 2.5/5

I can’t believe that I am saying this, but this book was a huge disappointment for me. After reading the first two books in this series (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood) and loving them, this was the biggest let down I have gone through in some time.

This book was devoid of Margaret Atwood’s scathing social commentary like her other books. I was expecting her to tackle some other form of social or political craziness but it simply wasn’t there. No environmental advocacy, no feminist theory…nothing.

Okay, maybe not completely nothing, but definitely  not the amount she normally does. And this social commentary is why I love her! I read the first two books in a Margaret Atwood/Neil Gaiman class in college (yeah we had that class; be jealous) and figured this book would be more of the same thing, which is exactly what I wanted.

Instead this book just turned into a wrap up of what happens to the characters of the other two books after the human race is nearly eradicated. Granted, I’m glad I know how things turn out in the end, but it just wasn’t enough for me. I didn’t feel as connected with the characters as I did before, and even though something happens to a character that I wanted to happen, (no spoilers) I wasn’t has thrilled about it as I thought I was going be. I just didn’t really care.

I know that a 2.5 might seem a little harsh, and believe me, it pains me to give Atwood anything less than a 4, but its inability to match up the first two books just killed it. As a book by itself it’s honestly not that bad, but since it is in a series it should be compared to its prequels. At least in my opinion.

The only think I liked about this book was that fact that we get to learn more about Zeb and his past, which was interesting. However, I feel that more could have been done with it to make it more than just a wrap up book.

I’m still glad that I read it, since it did tie up a couple of loose ends that weren’t answered in the first two books, but they really weren’t big revelations. They were more like interesting little back story tidbits.

That being said, I don’t want this review to deter anybody from reading the first two books. The first two books are amazing and recommend them to basically everybody looking for good books to read. It’s just unfortunate that the series didn’t end as amazingly as it started.

One comment

Leave a Reply

