Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

download

Rating: 4/5

I used to read a lot of fantasy when I was younger but for some reason stopped reading has much of it once I got into high school. Over the summer I decided to go back to my fantasy roots and start this series. Believe or not, I had actually heard mixed reviews about this book, but since the positive reviews came from people whose opinions I respected more than the negative ones, I decided to try it out. And now I’m hooked.

The story is constantly moving, and despite the fact that there are so many character involved it is relatively easy to follow. Granted, it might be difficult for those who are not used to fantasy, since most fantasy series can get pretty complicated, but it’s not inaccessible to those unfamiliar with the genre.

On top that, his characters are fascinating. There are some character that you just love and some that you want to stab in the eye with a spork *cough cough Joffery cough cough*. And the whole “everybody dies” thing that is always said about these book. Well, it’s true, which I love. You truly aren’t sure what is going to happen since no one is safe, no matter how popular the character. It’s actually really refreshing in a morbid, sad way.

The only reason this book doesn’t get full points is because there some general issues that could have been with a decent editor but weren’t. Like the internal dialogue in the middle of a paragraph that completely changes from third to first, thus disrupting the flow. This inner dialogue also has a tendency to be uninteresting or it says something that the reader could have figured out themselves. We’re not stupid.

Also, his obsession with describing food is a little off putting. At times, I got to parts where I had to skip through a paragraph just because I was sick of hearing about the food. Kind of like Brian Jacques and the “Redwall” series.

Despite these issues that would normally be off putting for me, I love the series and it gets even better. If you really want a good fantasy series to read, or if you are new to the fantasy genre, you should definitely try these books out. There is a reason that it has a pretty obsessive following.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

