A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

a-visit-from-the-goon-squad-cover

Rating: 4/5

I had a lot of fun with this book. Jennifer Egan was juggling a lot of characters with very different personalities. Normally, when I see an author do this I get worried that it’s not going to work out. There is every chance that the characters won’t be strong enough to stand on their own within the novel as well as tying in with the others. Often times, it becomes a jumbled mess of craziness that is just irksome and time consuming to read. However, I believe that Egan handled all of these characters well. I thought they all had some really strong character traits that really defined them and allowed them to be their own characters. They weren’t all mediocre characters that just sort of leaned on each other to make it work, which is what I was kind of expecting at first.

My favorite part of the novel was Alison’s section where images, graphs, and diagrams were used to tell the story. I thought it was very well thought out and surprisingly easy to understand. It was whole new way of telling a story, which is always a risk, but Egan did it artfully, creating something new and exciting for her readers.

The only issue I had with this book, and the only reason I’m going to give it a 4/5 was the ending. I didn’t feel like it tied things together very well, and it seemed really random by the end. I even felt like it could have been taken out or else rewritten as something completely different. I’m not sure what but that ending just did not work. However, the rest of the book was totally worth it, despite a rather disappointing ending.

Leave a Reply

