Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

books.cheryl-strayed-wild-book.widea

I had not heard of this book until Cheryl Strayed came to my school (Pacific University) to give a talk and reading. I was impressed with the sections of her book that she read and wanted to read more about the woman who took on the PCT despite her lack of experience in backpacking.

Aside from a few literary complaints that are probably more personal preference than anything else, I highly enjoyed reading this book. I thought that how Strayed weaved in important parts of her past within the narrative of her trek across the PCT was skillful and (for the most part) rather seamless.

I believe what I admired most about his book was Strayed’s honesty, not just with her readers but with herself. Throughout the book, Strayed struggles with issues that many people to choose not address in themselves, and because of her honesty with herself through her journey on the PCT, she is able to finally start finding the person that was there along and just needed to be found.

Overall, I highly enjoyed this book. It makes for great summer reading and is a great lesson in perseverance and how sometimes, finding yourself requires a deep, critical look at your past, no matter how painful that can be.

2 comments

  1. Currently reading this myself. Two chapters in and I would concur with your review so far. I am enjoying the brutal self honesty of the book. It’s refreshing since we live in a uber-obsessed politically correct world where everyone blames someone else for their life’s problems.

  2. I heard her interviewed about the book on NPR. It sounded very exciting and thoughtful, a grand adventure. But I was shocked to learn that she stopped at the Columbia River and missed the best section of the Pacific Crest Trail. I hope she gets to finish the hike someday.

Leave a Reply

