Watchmen by Alan Moore

Image

Rating: 5/5

Watchmen has to be one of the best graphic novels I have ever read, and this is nothing to scoff at. I have read quite a few.

At first, I was a little hesitant to read this novel. Unlike most fans of this book, I watched the movie first (I was, sadly, not reading graphic novels at the time) and I absolutely hated it. While I am, of course, of the belief that judging a book by its movie is a sin, I couldn’t believe that something that made such a God awful movie could be worth my time. But, listening to my wise, book nerd friends, I finally picked it up and read it, and don’t regret it one bit.

The major thing I appreciated about this graphic was just how complex and thought provoking the plot is. Graphic novels, at least in my experience, sometimes tend toward putting in action (fight scenes and the like) where it is unnecessary just to fill in the gaps between plot, but with Watchmen, the plot continued uninterrupted throughout which actually made the plot in the end (don’t want to give names just in case) much easier to follow and understand.

I could go on forever about this graphic novel, but I won’t do that here since I am only using this as a form of recommendation and giving my brief opinion. With that, here is my recommendation. Read this graphic novel! Do it now! It is a thought-provoking read that is beautifully crafted. Also, a shout out to Dave Gibbons for the art, which was also beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

